Maria Graham: A Literary Biography

by Regina Akel

Table of Contents

List of Illustrations

List of Plates


Part 1: The Making of an Intellectual, 1785–1820

Chapter 1: The Early Years

Chapter 2: A Voyage to India

Chapter 3: A Vision of India

Chapter 4: The Barren Years

Part 2: The South American Adventure, 1821–1825

Chapter 5: Encounters With Slavery: Brazil

Chapter 6: The Spanish Colonial Legacy: Chile

Chapter 7: Lord Thomas Cochrane

Chapter 8: The Courtier

Chapter 9: The Governess

Part 3: The Traveller Returns, 1826–1842

Chapter 10: The Intrepid Mrs. Graham

Chapter 11: The Final Years

Chapter 12: Afterward


Brief Chronology of Maria Graham’s Life and Travels




© Cambria Press, 2016. Innovative Publisher of Academic Research. /About Us/ Contact Us/ Privacy.